A bucket full of goodness

I love composting and I love (trying to) grow things. I love the idea that I can take kitchen waste material, transform it into great plant food, and perhaps even turn it into food for us. I buy the cheapest possible potting mix and usually amend that with compost to top up veggie garden beds, or grow things in pots. We’re at the end of autumn here so it’s a great time to grow some winter lettuces and other things, yet my compost is not ready. What to do? I realise that I can buy compost from the store (not as good as my own) or I can give the nutrient poor potting mix a real boost by mixing in some fertiliser. That’s when it occurred to me that rather than getting in the car and driving to the gardening store to buy a bag of sheep manure, I could forage much closer to home!

Autumn has thankfully brought us some rain so there is much more green grass around. We may even have to mow the lawn (I can’t remember when we did that last, at least a month ago). The kangaroos are loving it, and have been very bold and venturing into the suburbs to enjoy the sporting ovals and local parks.

IMG_20160509_093628
A damp little roo as the morning fog clears

Subsequently, there is plenty of fresh roo poo everywhere! It didn’t take too much work, but we did get the added benefit of a little bit of exercise while collecting a whole bucket from our local neighbourhood. Hubby and I perhaps roused some curiosity in other people out enjoying the parks (there were 3 simultaneous soccer matches going on down at the soccer field), but I was quite pleased that we were able to fill the whole bucket so easily.

I think roo poo is less rich than other manures, so I think it should be safe to just mix into the potting mix and use straight away. It will be fun to experiment with it anyhow.

IMG_20160521_162520

3 thoughts on “A bucket full of goodness

  1. This is great – nice idea with the roo poo! I’ve been wanting to try making compost for a while, mainly to save on kitchen waste, but I don’t have a proper compost bin yet. Can I ask what you use to keep your compost in?

    Like

    1. Sure! The previous owners of our house left behind a simple plastic construction. It’s basically 4 sided with vents and a lid. My husband says he can build a larger wooden structure with 2 or 3 bays (if he ever gets around to it!)
      If you want to start small I would recommend the bokashi system. It’s not composting, but fermenting. We used one of these when we were in an apartment, although you have to bury the waste to finish the process. It creates really great rich soil though!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

