Tree week!

I’m a bit late to the party but it’s currently Canberra tree week. What could be more sustainable than trees? Here are some beauties that I saw on my mini mountain walk today:

IMG_20160506_150213

I’m not sure if the photo I took with my phone does them justice, but the almost silver bark really shone in the afternoon sun.

I’ll have to find out what species they are, I had a look on the Atlas of Living Australia and my closest guess after looking there would be the Brittle gum (Eucalyptus mannifera), but perhaps they are scribbly gums or something else?

In other local news Canberra now has a mattress recycling scheme! So Cool. The metal springs are recycled and the fabric components can be used to make carpet underlay and other things.

 

Leave a Reply

